top of page

The Netherlands and the Caribbean part of the Kingdom unite to fight climate change

The Netherlands, Saba, Curaçao, Sint Maarten, Bonaire, Aruba and St. Eustatius have signed a joint agenda in the fight against climate change, making steps to intensify cooperation, funding and knowledge sharing on climate change and sustainability within the Kingdom.

Although the Dutch Caribbean's contribution to climate change is very small, the islands are still vulnerable to its consequences. This climate agenda includes agreements on climate mitigation, climate adaptation and climate financing. Among other things, the agreements focus on accelerating the energy transition by expanding the capacity of solar and wind energy and reducing the use of fossil fuels, with investments being made in infrastructure for the production, storage and use of renewable energy. In addition, efforts are being made to develop water management systems to capture excess water during heavy rainfalls.

Together with Saba, Bonaire and St. Eustatius, this Climate Agenda will be made more concrete by creating a climate plan for each island by 2024. Curaçao, Aruba and Sint Maarten are working on their own climate plans with support from the Netherlands. For the implementation of this agenda, financial resources are available from the Stimulating Sustainable Energy Production and Climate Transition (SDE++).

In October 2024, Curaçao and the Netherlands will jointly organize the second Caribbean Climate and Energy Conference. This conference aims to discuss the progress of the Climate Agenda, work on its further implementation and strengthen mutual cooperation.

69 views0 comments


bottom of page